31 Comments
Oct 30, 2020Liked by liza pittard

constantly replenishing the cornichons this year, crispy hot rosemary bread + butter for breakfast, veggie bouillon quinoa, and i think i could eat infinity roasted cauliflower.

balsamic+honey mixture for dipping.

Expand full comment
Oct 30, 2020Liked by liza pittard

Does coffee count? Every morning it makes me feel like I'm falling in love for the first time.

Other food: I learned that I love Making & Eating Borscht! Also this summer I ended up growing a lot of nasturtium which I recently learned is edible! Its leaves look like lily pads and it tastes pretty pepper-y, kind of like radishes.

Expand full comment
Oct 30, 2020Liked by liza pittard

Roasted red peppers and sun dried tomatoes -- both just taste like pizza by themselves which is odd but so goooood. Amazing in an omelette. Also been trying to make myself like tinned fish like anchovies or sardines on toast but they still really kinda gross me out, good dissolved into sauces though.

Expand full comment

tahini on/in everything imaginable (made a tahini banana miso smoothie the other day..nervous emoji), water kefir has been a big discovery for me this year, so refreshing and i think it might help with acid reflux so im looking into how to make it, need hobbies like that for winter

Expand full comment
Oct 30, 2020Liked by liza pittard

Rice Vinegar ! Well... basically any and all vinegars... I love putting them on everything I eat which has not been limited to carrots dipped in peanut butter then dipped in season rice vin. I must admit that I’m worried that I’ve irreparably affected my palette to chase the high brought on by delicious vinegar.

Expand full comment
Oct 30, 2020Liked by liza pittard

I have been using slap ya mama seasoning, omelette for breakfast, squeezing lines in black beans, using parsley (very nutritious), yogurt 3x a day, celery in smoothies, pickled red onion on tacos

Expand full comment

I used to hate celery but last month I discovered I actually love celery now (I love when this happens as I grow up) and I have been eating it daily with weird dressings. I am rehashing my relationship with beets in a positive way. Will has multiple pickle projects going on rn.

Expand full comment

Made some Mediterranean pasta sauce from Ottalenghi Simple (Tomatoes, capers, onions, olives) tonight, Recipe called for Harissa paste which I could not find at Kroger, but I did locate a dry spice Harissa blend and this worked our really well. Gives it a spicy kick

Expand full comment

IDK where to comment my banana preference. but its 5-6. as a fellow pittard I somehow understand (tho it's appalling to me) your penchant for green. someday can you come up with a way to ship anything, truly anything-- kits for a cake, a full cake, or something in between-- to those of us outside of richmond? future project maybe. really excited for the podcast and a daily enjoy/food notes collab. see you soon sway

Expand full comment

many of these are because of YOU: hot sauce and cayenne pepper, tempeh, cinnamon, and in Durango I ate some delicious himalayan food a few times that I still think about, it was very simple just like tofu and rice but it was PERFECT. mountain food. also of course I have been really into butternut squash ravioli and any recipes that have a similar taste or vibe. Also lately i’ve just been going nuts on the pastries. yummm. nothing better than a perfect croissant from the bakery, and/or having roommates who love to bake. i’m talking pumpkin cupcakes with cream cheese icing. Sway

Expand full comment

have been trying to make more latin dishes, so breakfast has been plantanos, an avacado, and eggs. we've got plenty of herbs in the garden still so I've been harvesting and making even more tea

Expand full comment

I made Pate a choux a few weeks ago and I felt so accomplished. I had never used a piping bag before! I froze a bunch of it so I can keep making cream puffs and eclairs. I filled them with pastry cream and topped them with craquelin. First time making pastry too!

Expand full comment